top of page
Writer's pictureRuina

Origin Story 1





This was originally a post from Ruina-031 main blog, from 2023, Nov. 24th.


I’d like to go on a little rant to thank everybody :)


Oh dang-it I might be too tired.


The company I work for faces a bit of economic downturn, that results in me having a workload of 3 people in one position and one pay. To combat inflation, and to support myself and my best friend, I regularly take in Tarot card clients. I never studied art before, I have no art teacher, and my background is foreign languages and English literature (and I sucked at school). I am quite surprised by the support and comments I get on Tumblr, because I don’t think I am that good. Thank you all. :)


The reason I got into art was My best friend. She is a history professor, her specialty is in WWII and military/technological systems comparisons between the Germany and the Soviet bloc. She has been a visiting scholar to the University of Moscow. Since the war went down, her grants all dried up, and she has to pay out of her own pockets to continue such researches. That’s part of the reason why we have no savings whatsoever.


She got me interested in WWII a few years ago and I attempted to sketch wartime personalities. Here I have Marshal Zhukov, Vasilevskiy and Walter Model. I realized I could capture faces pretty decently, with struggles, of course.


Still everyday I draw is a struggle; my anatomy knowledge sucks, my perspectives are crooked, I use an old ass Photoshop CS2 to do everything because sb gave me that program for free. I don’t know how to install brushes on that so it’s terrible. I use a second hand year 2000-ish digital tablet because sb sold it for cheap. I am grateful of every like and reblog and my friend who “discovered” my talent (or lack thereof).


OK long rant over~~~



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page